Presentations and Posters

Sunday 02 September – Pre-Symposium Activities
from 14:30 Registration Opens
16:00-17:00 Tour UPB labs
17:00-19:00 Welcome Reception
Monday 03 September – Morning Session
09:00-09:05 Mihaela Albu (University Politehnica of Bucharest) & Maria Brucoli (EDF Energy R&D), Symposium Co-Chairs
Welcome to Bucharest
09:05-09:20 Anton Anton (Minister for Energy, Romania) & Ioan Dumitrache (Romanian Academy)
Official Opening of the Bucharest 2018 Symposium on Microgrids
09:20-09:30 Nikos Hatziargyriou (NTUA & HEDNO), Symposium Steering Committee Chair
The Microgrid Symposium Tradition
09:30-11:00 Europe Session 1
Chairs: Diana Strauss-Mincu (DERLab) & Samuli Honkapuro (Lappeenranta University of Technology)
09:30-09:50 Nikos Hatziargyriou (NTUA & HEDNO), Symposium Steering Committee Chair
Overview of Microgrids in Europe
09:50-10:00 Discussion
10:00-10:20 Maria Brucoli (EdF R&D) / Mihai Sanduleac (University Politehnica of Bucharest)
tbc / Enabling Microgrids by Rhisomes of the EU NobelGrid project
10:20-10:30 Discussion
10:30-10:50 Josep Guerrero (University of Aalborg)
Maritime Microgris
10:50-11:00 Discussion
11:00-11:30 Coffee Break
11:30-12:30 Europe Session 2
Chairs: Goran Strbac (Imperial College) & Jan Von Appen (Fraunhofer IEE)
11:30-11:50 Goncalo Mendes (Lappeenranta University of Technology)
LUT Developments on Microgrid related Research
11:50-12:00 Discussion
12:00-12:20 Enrico De Tuglie (Polytechnic University of Bari)
The Prince Lab Microgrid Test Bed
12:20-12:30 Discussion
12:30-13:30 Lunch
Monday 03 September – Afternoon Session
13:30-15:30 The AMERICAS Session
Chairs: James Cale (Colorado State University) & Farid Katiraei (Quanta Technology)
13:30-13:50 Brian Miller (NREL) – United States and DOE Overview
Dave Turcotte (NRCan) – Canada
Guillermo Jimenez (U. of Chile) – Central and South America
Overview of Microgrids in The Americas
13:50-14:00 Discussion
14:00-14:20 Mohammad Shahidehpour (IIT, Chicago)
Transactive Energy in Networked Microgrids
 14:20-14:30 Discussion
 14:30-14:50 Alex McEachern (Power Standards Lab)
The Future of Stability Measurements on Microgrids
 14:50-15:00 Discussion
 15:00-15:20 Frank Bergh (Sigora)
Microgrid Development in Haiti
15:20-15:30 Discussion
15:30-15:45 Group Photo Shoot
 15:45-16:00 Short Break
16:00-17:30 PANEL Session: Local Energy Communities
Chairs: Chris Marnay (Berkeley Lab) & Hiroshi Asano (CRIEPI)
16:00-17:30 Dimitris Tsekeris (Greek Ministry of Energy)
Maria Brucoli (EDF Energy R&D)
Nan Zhou (Berkeley Lab)
Mihai Sanduleac (UPB)
Ioannis Vlachos (NTUA)
Hirohisa Aki (AIST)
17:30-18:00 Move to Hotels
19:30-22:30 Symposium Dinner
Hanu’ lui Manuc Restaurant (Bucharest Old Town)
Thursday 04 September – Morning Session
9:30-10:30 POSTER Introduction Session
Chairs: Maria Brucoli (EdF R&D) & Shigeru Bando (CRIEPI)
09:30-10:30 Each poster presenter gives a 3 min teaser:
poster 1, poster 2, poster 3, poster 4, poster 5, poster 6, poster 7, poster 8, poster 9, poster 10, poster 11, poster 12, poster 13, poster 14, poster 15, poster 16, poster 17, poster 18, poster 19, poster 20.
10:30-11:30 Coffee break and posters viewing
11:30-12:30 PANEL session: Emerging Microgrid Technologies
Chairs: Mohammad Shahidehpour (IIT, Chicago) & Lucian Toma (University Politehnica of Bucharest)
11:30-12:30 Petru Ruset (Siemens Romania)
Arunprasanth Sakthivel (RTDS)
Martti Ylikoski (Nokia), tbc
Andreas Eberhard (PSL)
Paul Roege (Typhoon HIL)
Tilo Buehler (ABB)
Takayuki Tanabe (Meidensha)
12:30-13:30 Lunch
Tuesday 04 September – Afternoon Session
13:30-15:30 ASIA Session
Chairs: Saad Sayeef (CSIRO) & Alex Chong (A*STAR)
 13:30-13:50 Pierluigi Mancarella (University of Melbourne) & Meiqin Mao (Hefei University of Technology)
Overview of Microgrids in Asia
13:50-14:00 Discussion
 14:00-14:20 Zhaoxia Xiao (Tianjin Polytechnic University)
Coordination Control of DC shipboard Microgrid
14:20-14:30 Discussion
14:30-14:50 Markson Tang (Daily Life)
Developing Island Microgrids in Southeast Asia
14:50-15:00 Discussion
15:00-15:20 Hak-Man Kim (Incheon National University)
Resilient Hybrid Technology for High-Value Microgrids (RHYTHM)
15:20-15:30 Discussion
15:30-16:00 Break
 16:00-17:30 REMOTE Session
Chairs: Dave Turcotte (NRCan) & Xavier Vallve (TTA)
16:00-16:20 Dongjun Won (Inha University)
Overview of DC Island Microgrid in Korea
16:20-16:25 Discussion
16:25-16:45 Saikat Chakrabarti (Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur)
16:45-16:50 Discussion
 16:50-17:10 Michael Ross (Yukon College), Farid Katiraei (Quanta)
Practical Considerations for Remote Microgrid Design and EMS
 17:10-17:15 Discussion
17:15-17:35 Arnaud Henin (Gommyr)
Solar Battery Microgrids vs. Solar Home Systems
 17:35-17:40 Discussion
17:40-17:45 Chun-Der Chang (CHEM)
Penghu Dongjiyu Microgrid Enhancement
 17:45-17:50 Discussion
Back-up Speakers