Presentations and Posters

Download all available presentations and posters as a single zip file (~250 Mb).

Friday 09 August – Reception
Powerhouse Energy Campus, 430 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO – Room 104
from 17:30 Doors Open
18:00-18:20 Welcome to Powerhouse
Bryan Willson, Director of CSU Energy Institute
Sonia Kreidenweis, CSU Associate Dean for Research
18:20-19:30 Tour of Powerhouse
19:30-20:00 Networking Social
Saturday 10 August – Morning Session
Lory Student Center on the CSU campus – Room 350, Grand Ballroom D
Registration Desk Open
Sweet Sinsations espresso bar and bakery open – Room 222 LSC
09:00-09:05 Jim Cale (CSU) & Sandy Vanderstoep (PVI C&M)
Symposium Welcome
09:05-09:20 Wade Troxell, Mayor of Fort Collins
  Official Opening of the Fort Collins 2019 Symposium on Microgrids
Alexandre Prieur (NRCan), Symposium Steering Committee Chair
The Microgrid Symposium Tradition
09:30-11:00 The AMERICAS Session 1
  Chairs: Sid Suryanarayanan (CSU)  &  Amanda DelCore (Factor[e])
09:30-09:50 Murali Baggu (NREL) – United States
Dave Turcotte (NRCan) – Canada
Guillermo Jimenez (University of  Los Andes) – Central and South America
Overview of Microgrids in The Americas
09:50-10:00 Discussion
10:00-10:20 Ermin Wei (Northwestern University)
Algorithms for Multi-Agent Micrgrids & Wider Power Systems
Jorge Elizondo (Heila Technologies)
Distributed and Dispersed Microgrid Control
10:20-10:30 Discussion
10:30-10:50 Peter Asmus (Navigant)
Update on World Microgrid Markets
10:50-11:00 Discussion
  Administration Update
11:00-11:30 Coffee Break in Room 350, Grand Ballroom C
11:30-12:30 THE AMERICAS Session 2
  Chairs: Alexandre Prieur (NRCan)  &  Guillermo Jimenez (University of Los Andes)
11:30-11:50 Claudio Canizares (University of Waterloo)
Microgrid Stability: Definitions, Analysis and Modeling
11:50-11:55 Discussion
11:55-12:15 Fabio Andrade (University of Puerto Rico at Mayaquez)
Microgrids in Puerto Rico’s Reconstruction
12:15-12:20 Discussion
Administration Update
12:30-13:30 Lunch in Room 350, Grand Ballroom C
Saturday 10 August – Afternoon Session
  Lory Student Center on the CSU campus – Room 350, Grand Ballroom D
13:30-15:30 ASIA Session
  Chairs: Dongjun Won (Inha University)  &  Pierluigi Mancarella (University of Melbourne)
13:50-14:00 Saad Sayeef (CSIRO)
Overview of Asia and Oceania Microgrids
13:50-14:00 Discussion
14:00-14:20 Tao Ding (Xi’an Jiaotong University)
Multi-Microgrids to Enhance Power System Resilience
 14:20-14:30 Discussion
 14:30-14:50 Elizabeth Ratman (ANU)
C3FN DER Lab: Australia’s New Facility for Research and Testing
 14:50-15:00 Discussion
 15:00-15:20 Hiroshi Asano (CRIEPI, Gifu University & Tokyo University)
Smart Local Energy Systems and Scheduling of Microgrids
15:20-15:30 Discussion
  Administration Update
15:30-15:45 Group Photo Shoot
 15:45-16:00 Coffee Break in Room 350, Grand Ballroom C
16:00-17:30 PANEL Session: DC Microgrids
  Chairs: Johan Driesen (K. U. Leuven)  &  Ryoichi Hara (Hokkaido University)
16:00-17:30 Paul Savage (Nextek) – introduction
Dan Zimmerle (CSU)  – introduction
Keiichi Hirose (NEDO) -introduction
Hannah Walker (Sinclair Hotel Project) – introduction
Giel Van den Broeck (K.U. Leuven) – introduction
Meiqin Mao (Hefei University of Technology) – introduction
  Administration Update
Hilton Hotel Bar Open, 425 W Prospect Rd
17:30-18:30 Shuttle bus, walk, bicycle or Lyft/Uber to the barbeque
18:30-20:30 Cowboy Barbeque
casual clothing necessary Rolland Moore Park
Sunday 11 August – Morning Session
Lory Student Center on the CSU campus – Room 350, Grand Ballroom D
Sweet Sinsations espresso bar and bakery open – Room 222 LSC
08:30-10:00 POSTER Introduction Session
  Chairs: Maria Brucoli (EdF)  &  Shigeru Bando (CRIEPI)  &  Chris Lute (CSU)
08:30-10:00 Each poster presenter gives a 3 min teaser:
poster 1, poster 2, poster 3, poster 4, poster 5, poster 6, poster 7, poster 8, poster 9, poster 10, poster 11, poster 12, poster 13, poster 14, poster 15, poster 16, poster 17, poster 18, poster 19, poster 20, poster 21, poster 22, poster 23, poster 24, poster 25, poster 27, poster 28.
  Administration Update
10:00-11:30 Coffee break and poster viewing
  Posters and coffee are located in Room 302 (“Longs Peak”) at Lory Student Center on the CSU campus
11:30-12:30 PANEL session: Microgrids for Resilience
  Chairs: Hirohisa Aki (University of Tsukuba)  &  Anurag Srivastava (University of Washington)
11:30-12:30 Keiichi Hirose (NEDO) – introduction
Alexis Kwasinski (University of Pittsburgh) – introduction
Wayne Weaver (MTU) – introduction
Darrin Moorman (Moser Energy Systems) – introduction
Salman Mohagheghi (Colorado School of Mines) – introduction
Nikos Hatziargyriou (NTUA/HEDNO) – introduction
Bjorn Sturmberg (ANU) – introduction
Siddharth Suryanarayanan (CSU) – introduction
Tao Ding (Xi’an Jiaotong University) – introduction
  Administration Update
12:30-13:30 Lunch in Room 350, Grand Ballroom C
Sunday 11 August – Afternoon Session
Lory Student Center on the CSU campus – Room 350, Grand Ballroom D
13:30-15:30 EUROPE Session
  Chairs: Nikos Hatziargyriou (NTUA/HEDNO)  &  Marco Jung (Fraunhofer IEE/EST)
13:30-13:45 Goncalo Mendes (Lappeenranta University of Technology)
Josep Guerrero (Aalborg University)
Overview of Europe and Africa Microgrids
13:45-13:50 Discussion
13:50-14:10 Bernt Bremdal (Smart Innovation Norway)
The Sandbakken Microgrid and the Inspiria Charging Court
14:10-14:15 Discussion
 14:15-14:35 Leen Peeters (Th!nk E/STORY H2020 Project)
Local Energy Communities/STORY Project
14:35-14:40 Discussion
14:40-15:00 Maria Brucoli (EdF Energy R&D UK Centre)
Community Urban Neighborhoods Internal Trading of energY
15:00-15:05 Discussion
15:05-15:25 Katja Sirvio & Suvi Karirinne (Vaasa University)
  Vaasa Region Boosting Microgrid Solutions
15:25-15:30 Discussion
  Administration Update
15:30-16:00 Coffee Break in Room 350, Grand Ballroom C
 16:00-18:00 REMOTE Session
  Chairs: Xavier Vallve (TTA)  &  Alex Chong (A*STAR)
16:00-16:15 Alison Mason (SunJuice Solar)
Rebuilding the Puerto Rican Power System from the Bottom Up
16:15-16:20 Discussion
Chao-Shun Chen (I-Shou University)
  Micro Grid System of Cimei Island, Taiwan
16:35-16:40 Discussion
Jessica Stephens (AMDA)
  African Microgrids: Data Collection, Advocacy and Coordination
 16:55-17:00 Discussion
17:00-17:15 Andrew Barfour & Seth Mahu (Ghanaian MoEP)
Community Minigrid Assessment Dos and Don’ts
 17:15-17:20 Discussion
17:20-17:35 Sarjiya Sarjiya & Lesnanto Putranto (Gadja Mada University)
PV Interconnection Study for Microgrids in Indonesia
 17:35-17:40 Discussion
17:40-17:55 Kaitlyn Bunker (RMI)
Island Microgrids
 17:55-18:00 Discussion
18:00-18:30 Closing Session
New Belgium Alternative Energy Tour and Beer Tasting
First 70 to arrive can join the brewery tour
Back-up Speakers
Suitable for session: Americas
Larisa Dobriansky (General Microgrids)
Regulatory Framework for Microgrids
Mike Murray (Ageto, LLC)
An AC and a DC Coupled Microgrids
Suitable for session: Europe
Suitable for session: ASIA
Yuko Hirase (Toyo U.)
Virtual Synchronous Generator Control for Residential Power Exchange
Meiqin Mao (Hefei U. of Technology)
Distributed Control of AC/DC Microgrid Voltage Containing EVs
Suitable for session: Remote
Annabelle Pratt (NREL)
Borrego Springs Microgrid